Watson Presented the C. Jackson Grayson Medal as Distinguished Quality Pioneer

St. Louis, Missouri – 25 May 2010:

Today the American Productivity & Quality Center (APQC) presented the C. Jackson Grayson Distinguished Quality Pioneer Medal to Gregory H. Watson at the annual American Society for Quality (ASQ) World Conference on Quality Improvement. The award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the application of quality philosophy, methods and tools in education, healthcare, public service and not-for-profit organizations.

APQC recognized Mr. Watson for a lifetime of service to the global quality movement and exemplary leadership of the quality programs. Mr. Watson, Chairman of Business Excellence Solutions, Ltd., is one of the World’s leading quality consultants, providing strategic counsel on matters relating to business improvement and specializing in executive coaching for application of scientific methods to enhance quality leadership. Watson is President of the International Academy for Quality and a Past-President and Fellow of ASQ. He is the first non-Japanese individual to have received the Deming Medal from the Japanese Union of Scientists and Engineers.

In describing the individuals who were presented the award, Dr. Grayson, founder and chairman of the APQC and for whom the award is named, remarked: “These outstanding individuals are true exemplars of what I value most in my own life—obsessed with purpose, caring for people, and a make-it-happen fire in the belly, despite the odds. Never doubt that people like this can change the world. They already have.” The Grayson Medal celebrates the professional philosophy expressed throughout the lifetime career of public service and quality advocacy by Dr. Grayson.

Past recipients of the Grayson Medal include, Dr. Don Berwick, Founder and Chairman of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement; Dr. Terry K. Holliday, Kentucky’s Commissioner of Education; David T. Kearns, retired Chairman and CEO of Xerox Corporation and former Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Education; and Sister Mary Jean Ryan, President and CEO, SSM Health Care.

Gregory H. Watson (center) is presented the Grayson Medal by C. Jackson Grayson, Founder and Chairman of APQC (left), and Carla O’Dell, President of APQC (right).